(Macon, IL) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will make heads turn, heading to the “Land of Lincoln” this weekend. There is never a shortage of thrills for teams and fans alike when the series visits Tri-City Speedway and Macon Speedway. The Macon Speedway event, presented by Connor Company, is set for Saturday night, featuring $15,000 to win for Super Late Models in addition to the Modified and DIRTcar Pro Mods.

The thrill level will be high as the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series teams make their way to Macon Speedway on Saturday night. Rich in history, the 1/5-mile bullring that opened in 1946 is historically known to produce non-stop, door-to-door racing action. The event features Allstar Performance Time Trials, Heat Races, and B-Mains, highlighted by a 100-lap, $15,000-to-win main event.

Central Illinois racing star, Brandon Sheppard, from New Berlin, IL, currently leads the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series standings over Devin Moran and Tyler Erb. Sheppard made the announcement this week that he would continue to follow the Lucas Oil schedule to run for the championship, after winning four of the last five World of Outlaw Late Model championships.

Macon Speedway has hosted five Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series 100 lap races. The first was in 2014 when Bobby Pierce claimed the win. Pierce also took the top prize at the 2016 and 2018 events. The other two events were won by Jimmy Owens in 2015 and Josh Richards in 2017. 2019 and 2021 events were canceled due to rain, while COVID-19 claimed 2020’s race.

The DIRTcar Modified will be on track, racing for $1,000 to win. The two Modified shows have been outstanding so far this season with Rick Conoyer and Jacob Steinkoenig claiming the victories. Conoyer, from Wentzville, MO, currently leads the standings by four points over last year’s point runner-up, Alan Crowder. Rodney Standerfer, Guy Taylor, and Clint Martin round out the top five in points.

Springfield, IL’s Guy Taylor, last year’s Modified and Street Stock champion at the track, currently is on top of the Pro Modified points. Taylor won on opening night, while point runner-up, Austin Seets, won this past Saturday. Kevin Crowder, Maxx Emerson, and Zach Taylor complete the top five in the standings.

Pits will open at 3:00 with grandstands at 4:00, hotlaps begin at 6:00, and racing will take the green at 7:00 PM. Pro Modifieds will be racing for $300-to-win while the Modified division will compete for $1,000-to-win.

Tickets and pit passes will be available at the track on race day. Grandstand admission is $35, while kids 11 and under are $5.

About Macon Speedway:
For more information, follow Macon Speedway online at, on Facebook ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials. Macon Speedway is a proud member of the Contingency Connection’s $100,000 Racer Rewards Program.


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Pos # Competitor Wins Top 5 Top 10 Points
1 1S Brandon Sheppard 4 10 13 1870
2 9 Devin Moran 3 12 14 1855
3 1T Tyler Erb 1 7 13 1775
4 39 Tim McCreadie 1 8 11 1750
5 20 Jimmy Owens 2 3 8 1640
6 89 Ashton Winger 0 2 8 1590
7 20RT Ricky Thornton Jr. 0 4 11 1565
8 46 Earl Pearson Jr 0 2 8 1550
9 71 Hudson O’Neal 0 4 8 1520
10 25 Shane Clanton 0 3 5 1510 DIRTcar Modifieds

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 27 Colby Sheppard Williamsville IL 118 0
2 14J Braden Johnson Taylorville IL 110 8
3 25 Dakota Ewing Warrensburg IL 108 10
4 10C Colby Eller Taylorville IL 106 12
5 27E Dalton Ewing Decatur IL 94 24
6 11 Ryan Miller Lincoln IL 94 24
7 34 Eric Doran Clinton IL 92 26
8 55 Rockett Bennett Argenta IL 88 30
9 9B Brandon Miller Broadwell IL 86 32
10 130 Chase Osterhoff Kankakee IL 56 62

DIRTcar Pro Mods

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 4T Guy Taylor Springfield IL 118 0
2 67 Austin Seets Brighton IL 106 12
3 15C Kevin Crowder Argenta IL 106 12
4 78 Maxx Emerson Taylorville IL 92 26
5 24 Zach Taylor Springfield IL 88 30
6 33 Josh Robb Mt.zion IL 86 32
7 24M Matt Milner Chatham IL 82 36
8 7B Brian Burns Bethany IL 78 40
9 X Dean Holt Decatur IL 70 48
10 14 Tommy Gaither Alton IL 58 60


Permanent link to this article: