April 21, 2014 archive

POWRi national midget championship battle heats up heading to Macon Speedway Saturday


MILLSTADT, IL – Teammates Christopher Bell and Tanner Thorson are parked first and second in the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget point standings four races into the 2014 season.  With 760 points, Bell has a comfortable 160-point lead over Thorson going into the events scheduled at Jacksonville Speedway and Macon Speedway this weekend.  The gap between second and third, however, is much smaller.  Thorson has only a 10-point lead over 2013 POWRi midget champion Zach Daum.  Bell and Thorson’s third teammate, Rico Abreu, is currently fourth in the midget point standings and trails only 40 points behind Daum.

After two events, there is a tie for first in the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Micro point standings.  Jeremy Camp and 2013 POWRi micro champion Nathan Benson have both acquired 380 points after the micro series’ first two races of the 2014 season at Kokomo Speedway in Kokomo, IN.  Camp and Benson will have to hold off Aaron Andruskevitch at both Jacksonville and Macon this weekend if they want to stay at the top of the micro point standings.  Andruskevitch is currently third in the micro point standings and trails Camp and Benson by a mere 30 points.

Both the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midgets and the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micros are scheduled to run at Jacksonville Speedway in Jacksonville, IL on Friday, April 25th.  The ¼ mile high-banked oval hosted three POWRi events in 2013.  Shane Cockrum, Kyle Larson, and Rico Abreu took midget feature wins while Dereck King, Mike Dicely, and Cale Thomas came out on top in the micros at Jacksonville Speedway last year.  The April 25th event will be the first of four times that POWRi will visit the Jacksonville, IL track during the 2014 season.  Jacksonville Speedway will host the opening night of the POWRi Illinois SPEED Week as well as the 2014 midget season finale.

Following Friday night at Jacksonville Speedway, both the midgets and micros will visit Macon Speedway in Macon, IL on Saturday, April 26th.  After getting rained out on April 5th, the April 26th race will mark the first of five times that both the POWRi midgets and micros will visit the 1/5 mile high-banked oval during 2014.  Macon Speedway will host the prestigious Dana Godfrey Memorial as well as the third night of the POWRi Illinois SPEED Week.  A POWRi event at Macon Speedway traditionally attracts a field of midgets that puts on an exciting show.  Fans saw Danny Stratton, Christopher Bell, Andrew Felker, and Brady Bacon win hard-fought midget feature events during the 2013 season.  In the micros, Nathan Benson and Dereck King both nabbed one while Cale Thomas claimed two feature wins at the track in 2013.

Current 2014 POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Point Standings (Top 10):  1.  Christopher Bell (760) 2.  Tanner Thorson (600) 3.  Zach Daum (590) 4.  Rico Abreu (550) 5.  Tyler Thomas (530) 6.  Parker Price-Miller (340) 7.  Alex Sewell (240) 8.  Colten Cottle (235) 9.  Justin Peck (225) 10.  Darren Hagen (220)

Current 2014 POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Point Standings (Top 10):  1.  Jeremy Camp (380) 2.  Nathan Benson (380) 3.  Aaron Andruskevitch (350) 4.  Nick Bailey (260) 5.  Tyler Nelson (250) 6.  Andrew Peters (210) 7.  Jake Neuman (210) 8.  Jason Harms (170) 9.  Zac Taylor (160) 10.  Jeremy Zumwalt (130)



Permanent link to this article: https://www.maconracing.com/2014/04/powri-national-midget-championship-battle-heats-up-heading-to-macon-speedway-saturday/

Terre Haute Action Track hosts MSCS sprint cars in weekend swing through Indiana

         Wednesday May 22nd     Tony Hulman Classic     USAC Sprint Cars and UMP Modifieds     General Admission Gates Open: 5PM     Pit Gates Open: 4PM     Hot Laps: 6PM     Racing: 7PM     General Admission: $25     Infield: $15     Kids 10 & Under: FREE     Pit Pass: $35 - USAC Members: $30     (All times Eastern)


TERRE HAUTE, Ind. — The excitement level is always high in the dirt racing world and early race dates are not an exception. Spring is in the air.  The glitter of new paint is abundant.  New opportunities and a fresh start await the drivers.

The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series drivers have a second and perhaps greater challenge just ahead as they tackle two fast and demanding tracks in one weekend.  MSCS will participate along with the United States Auto Club Sprint Cars on Saturday, April 26th at the quarter mile Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt.  Then on Sunday, April 27, the series will travel to the half mile Terre Haute Action Track to compete in the first King of Indiana Sprint Series race in an event promoted by Track Enterprises, Inc. The two Indiana tracks are both on the U.S. 41 corridor in Southern Indiana and the tow or drive is an easy four-lane 95-mile two or drive.

Action gets underway Saturday with MSCS regulars encountering the art of qualifying during time trials.  The “Spring Showdown” will play out following 2014 USAC Official Rules of Competition.  The format will include 10 lap heats, a qualifying race if necessary, a 12 lap semi, and the 30 lap feature.  The feature will pay $5,000 to win and $500 to start.  Twenty-two cars will start the main event.  The provisional starter program will also be in effect for both series!

Sunday’s “Spring Fling” will be conducted according to the current King of Indiana Sprint Series format.  MSCS Officials, KISS Officials, and THAT Officials will work together to oversee and supervise the various aspects of the program.  Specific details related to coordinating MSCS & KISS rules for the event will be covered at the drivers meeting.  The 30 lap feature will pay $2,500 to win and $250 to start.  At least twenty cars normally start the main event.

For the Action Track, gates open at 3 p.m. with hot laps at 5 p.m. and racing to follow. Infield tickets are $15 and the grandstand is $20. Kids 10 and under are free. Pit passes are $35 for all ages. The MSCS cars will run non-winged sprints. Also, Kenny Wallace will race his UMP modified. For information, call 812-232-4040 or go online to terrehauteactiontrack.com.

Last season’s “Spring Showdown” was won by Cullman Alabama’s Kevin Thomas Jr.  He went on to win both co-sanctioned USAC-MSCS events held at Tri-State Speedway in 2013.  Sikeston Missouri’s Hunter Schuerenberg won the very first USAC-MSCS “Spring Showdown” to be held at the speedway in 2012.  Schuerenberg was victorious at the MSCS sanctioned “Bill Gardner’s Indiana Open Wheel.Com Racin’ Fest” at Lincoln Park Speedway to open this season. Two time and defending MSCS Champion Jon Stanbrough was second in that first encounter.

The last time MSCS joined KISS for a show at Terre Haute was in 2012. Robert Ballou picked up the victory in April that season.  And Ballou was second at Haubstadt in the 2013 Showdown.  The KISS-MSCS event scheduled to be held at the Action Track in 2013 was rained out and not rescheduled.

The drivers or driver that wins these two features could find that getting to the front was not an easy task and then staying there another lap by lap challenge.  The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will be an added attraction at both race tracks!

Provided as News and Information for MSCS.

Permanent link to this article: https://www.maconracing.com/2014/04/terre-haute-action-track-hosts-mscs-sprint-cars-in-weekend-swing-through-indiana/