May 1, 2014 archive

Pierce captures St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100 for second career Lucas Oil Late Model victory



MACON, Ill. – Like father, like son. Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., pulled away for a comfortable win in the St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100 for Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series cars Thursday at legendary Macon Speedway and grabbed the $12,000 winner’s paycheck.

The race was the richest in the history of the track in its 69th season, and a crowd of 3,500 witnessed a great show from the first-ever appearance by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.  Brian Shirley, a former track champ at Macon Speedway, finished second ahead of Steve Francis and Jimmy Owens, who rallied from 24th to finish fourth.

“I can’t believe how good the car was tonight,’’ Pierce said. “Everything was great from the get go. We set fast time, won our heat and led every lap in the feature. I got a little worried in traffic a few times, but everybody gave each other plenty of room.

“To win the first Lucas Oil race here is special. My dad has a lot of wins here, and this is only the second time I raced here in a late model.’’

Pierce’s father, Bob, is a four-time winner of the Herald-Review 100 here at legendary Macon Speedway. The win at Macon Speedway is the second of the young Pierce’s career and second this season.

”The track was good all night,’’ Pierce said. “There was enough cushion up against the wall to keep me from hitting it.’’

Eddie Carrier finished fifth, followed by Kevin Weaver, Brian Birkhofer, Brandon Sheppard, John Blankenship and Dennis Erb, Jr.

In the 25-lap UMP Billingsley Towing modified feature, Randy Shuman held off Ken Schrader for the victory. Clark Robertson was third.

St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100

  1. Bobby Pierce, 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Steve Francis, 4. Jimmy Owens, 5. Eddie Carrier Jr., 6. Kevin Weaver, 7. Brian Birkhofer, 8. Brandon Sheppard, 9. John Blankenship, 10. Dennis Erb Jr., 11. Scott Bloomquist, 12. Jared Landers, 13. Jason Papich, 14. Jason Hughes, 15. Randy Korte, 16. Earl Pearson Jr., 17. Matt Taylor, 18. Joseph Hughes, 19. Jason Feger, 20. John Beck, 21. Roger Brickler, 22. Billy Moyer, 23. Shannon Babb, 24. Don O’Neal, 25. Brian Dively.

UMP Billingsley Towing Modified feature

1. Randy Shuman, 2. Ken Schrader, 3. Clark Robertson, 4. Chad Evans, 5. Eric Hamilton, 6. Jeff Leka, 7. Jeff Ray, 8. Kenny Wallace, 9. Danny Smith, 10. David Crawley Jr., 11. Nate Zimmer, 12. Matt Goulden, 13. David Stremme, 14. Ryan Blakeman, 15. Troy Dodson, 16. Alan Crowder, 17. Guy Taylor, 18. Joe Stawkas, 19. Zack Buning, 20. Rick Hamilton, 21. Ethan Schnapp, 22. Curt Rhodes, 23. Cory Daugherty.

Permanent link to this article: