May 31, 2014 archive

Riech ends dry spell with win at Macon Speedway on Casey’s/Armed Forces Night


MACON, Ill. – It had been a long time since Thomas Riech of Springfield made it to victory lane at Macon Speedway. How long?

He knew the date. It was Aug. 26, 2006. After a thrilling race at Macon Speedway Saturday, the Springfield driver held off Bobby Beiler in the street stocks division for the victory and a long overdue  celebration.

“It’s been a while,’’ Riech said. “We’re getting faster, and we want to run for a championship.’’

Beiler, of Blue Mound, is in the middle of the street stock championship race and nearly won again after grabbing the victory at Macon Speedway last weekend. He even joked with Riech about it.

“He told me that trophy was supposed (Beiler’s) but he let me have it,’’ Riech said.

David Crawley  Jr., of Decatur, won the Billingsley Towing Modifieds feature. Jeremy Nichols, of Shelbyville, was so hooked up, he rode around on three wheels through the corners, building a comfortable margin for the win.

Dillon Justice, of Harristown, took the win in Outlaw Hornets. Derek Peters of Pana, won the Stock Hornets feature. In the Illinois Lightning Sprints, Jed Ross, of Havana, roared through traffic for the win in the 20-lapper.

On Saturday, May 31, the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series returns to Macon Speedway and the POWRi Outlaw Micros battle with the Beach House Mini-Sprints on IHOP Night. It’s also Faster Pastor Night, when the race among local ministers is renamed the B.G. Nevitt Memorial.



Sportsman – 1. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville), 2. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 3. Curt Rhodes (Langleyville), 4. Doug Nevill (Dawson), 5. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 6. Phil Moreland (Assumption), 7. Michael Maestas (Lincoln), 8. Scott Landers (Taylorville), 9. Tom Graham (Stonington), 10. Cody Wickline (Assumption), 11. Zach Rhodes (Taylorville)

Street Stocks – 1. Thomas Reich (Springfield), 2. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 3. Gene Reed (Blue Mound), 4. Terry Reed (Decatur), 5. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 6. Josh Smith (Clinton), 7. Steve Ewing (Decatur), 8. Kaleb Wood (Sullivan), 9. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 10. Luke Force (Argenta), 11. Dustin Reed (Decatur), 12. Ronnie Burns (Cerro Gordo), 13. Zach Perryman (Decatur), 14. Brandon Dick (Decatur), 15. Jason Scrimpsher, 16. Greg Scribner, 17. Charles Biesenthal

Outlaw Hornets – 1. Dillon Justice (Harristown), 2. Brian Deavers (Bloomington), 3. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 4. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 5. Steven Stine (Stonington), 6. Victor Overlin, 7. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 8. Tharen Reno (Springfield), 9. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 10. Brandon Buatte (Mulberry Grove)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds – 1. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 2. Cory Daugherty (Blue Mound), 3. TD Burger (Saunemin), 4. Ethan Schnapp (Springfield), 5. Randy Huffman (Maroa), 6. Chad Sellers, 7. Jeff Graham (Stonington), 8. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 9. Danny Smith (Argenta), 10. Curtis Hartung (Decatur), 11. Rick Hamilton (Decatur), 12. Randy Spaugh (Decatur), 13. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 14. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville), 15. Zack Bunning (Decatur), 16. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo), 17. Jeff Ray (Springfield), 18. Norm Wood (Sullivan)

Illinois Lightning Sprint Series – 1. Jed Ross, 2. Austin Archdale, 3. Brad Funk, 4. Robby McQuinn, 5. Larry Eaglen, 6. Mark Billings, 7. Andrew Funk, 8. Terry Bolen, 9. T.J. Bolen, 10. Larry Eastin, 11. Jake Sollenberger, 12. Lucas Eastin, 13. Dave Baugh, Andy Baugh

Stock Hornets – 1. Derek Peters (Pana), 2. Benjamin McChristy (Mt. Zion), 3. Brian Offer (Springfield), 4. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 5. William Deavers (Bloomington), 6. Tory Lyons (Mt. Pulaski), 7. Dean Holt (Mt. Zion), 8. Luke Wright (Lincoln), 9. Garth Luka (Blue Mound), 10. Paul Peters (Pana), 11. Joseph McChristy (Mt. Zion), 12 Kenneth Reed (Decatur), 13. Mike McChristy (Mt. Zion), 14. Josh Bright (Decatur)


Permanent link to this article:

Look for Pepperoni Pete, giveaways during Casey’s General Stores/Armed Forces Night

Pepperoni Pete

MACON, Ill. – The action isn’t just on the track during Casey’s General Stores/Armed Forces Night at Macon Speedway tonight (May 31). There’s plenty of it in the grandstands, thanks to a great partnership between Casey’s and legendary Macon Speedway.

First, just grab a $2 off coupon for general admission to Casey’s Night from the counter at a Decatur area Casey’s location. They’ve been going fast, so be sure to get there for the great deal. While you’re at Casey’s, grab a doughnut, a cold drink or any of the fresh products from the kitchen. Casey’s, Famous for Pizza.

When you get to the track, look for the fun and prizes from the Casey’s team. They will bring the spinning wheel for prizes, and there’s even more merchandise that will be distributed from the Casey’s folks during intermission. Keep your eyes open for great deals.

Bring the kids for pictures with Pepperoni Pete, the Casey’s mascot. Actually, he’s a favorite for pizza fans of all ages.

Casey’s will also collect donations for Hope For The Warriors, whose missions is to enhance the quality of life for post-9/11 service members, their families and families of the fallen who have sustained physical and psychological wounds in the line of duty. Hope For The Warriors is dedicated to restoring a sense of self, restoring the family unit and restoring hope for our service members and our military families.

Don’t forget to say thanks to the military in attendance. Macon Speedway will admit all service members free with an ID. We also especially like to see service members in uniform.

Billingsley Towing Modifieds, Street Stocks, Sportsman, Outlaw Hornets, Stock Hornets and the Illinois Lightning Sprint Series will run the famed Macon Speedway oval. Gates open at 5 p.m. Racing starts at 7.

For more information, follow Macon Speedway at (, Facebook  ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and data rates may apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.


Permanent link to this article: