June 26, 2014 archive

After rainout, here’s the updated schedule for Bud Light Ladies Night, presented by Y103


Nobody was happy with a rainout Saturday, especially the gals from Woody’s, who were set to race on Bud Light Ladies Night, presented by Y103.



MACON, Ill. – The girls from Woody’s were sad Saturday since their Bud Light Ladies Night race, presented by Y103, was called off last weekend because of rain. But there’s good news. Those gals get a chance to drive the four-cylinder hornets on Aug. 9 as part of the new Bud Light Ladies Night revised schedule, as we try to find out which bar has the fastest women in town.

Woody’s will race on a night originally scheduled for another bar, but Pop’s Place has moved from Aug. 9 to Aug. 30. So here’s the updated scheduled for Bud Light Ladies Night, presented by Y103.

July 12 – Starship Billiards

Aug. 9 – Woody’s

Aug. 30 – Pop’s Place

Sept. 13 – Bud Light Ladies Night presented by Y103 championship race.

Jenny Cramer and Dana Damery from Rocco’s have already qualified for the championship race. Two girls from each bar advance to the championship, where the winner takes home a prize package and the winning bar gets a trophy.

The fans are also winners. Ladies receive half-rice admission, and fans can purchase race buckets with five beers, the bucket to hold them and the ice to keep them cold all for just $20. Refills with five more beers and the ice are only $15. Now that’s a party for the Macon Speedway grandstands.

For more information, follow Macon Speedway at (www.maconracing.com), Facebook  (www.facebook.com/maconracing) and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers can text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and data rates may apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000. Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles.



Permanent link to this article: https://www.maconracing.com/2014/06/after-rainout-heres-the-updated-schedule-for-bud-light-ladies-night-presented-by-y103/

Moweaqua Missile rockets to another win on Summer Nationals tour before PIR Friday


CLARKSVILLE, Tenn.  June 25, 2014 — Shannon Babb, starting from the outside of row one, powered around pole-sitter Ryan Unzicker on the opening lap and never looked back en route to grabbing his second victory of the 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals season on Wednesday night at Clarksville Speedway.

  Unzicker, who lead the series points heading into the night, managed to finish second but never had a chance to lead a lap, as Babb would pull away from the field by half of a straightaway. The race was slowed by two cautions, one at lap 21 and the other at lap 25, but Unzicker could not get back around Babb. Babb lead all 40 laps in dominating fashion, scoring a well-earned $5,000 payday and defeating Unzicker by two seconds.

 The victory on Wednesday night gave Babb his 85th career victory, returning his name to the top of the series all-time wins list, topping Billy Moyer in the season-long battle for the top spot.

 “I’ve always enjoyed racing at this track,” said Babb in victory lane. “It’s been tough on me at times, but I started in a good spot, front-row outside was just perfect place to start and was able to get it done.”

Babb and the tour heads to Paducah International Raceway Friday. Summer Nationals reach the Terre Haute Action Track on July 9 and then race the Herald-Review 100 on July 10 at Macon Speedway, where Babb is the defending race champion.

 Dennis Erb Jr., Tanner English, and Bobby Pierce  rounded out the top five.

 Heat race winners included Erb Jr., Unzicker, and Babb.

 The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Thursday night as they join the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Clayhill Motorsports in Atwood, Tenn.

 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Clarksville Speedway; Clarksville, Tenn.;June 25, 2014;

A-Main (40-laps): 1. 18-Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 3. 28E-Dennis Erb  Jr, 4. 96-Tanner English, 5. 32-Bobby Pierce, 6. 81-Brian Shirley, 7. 96T-Terry English, 8. C8-Timothy Culp, 9. 18S-Jack Sullivan, 10. 12B-Kevin Weaver, 11. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 12. 6M-Wendell Wallace, 13. 16-Justin Rattliff, 14. 15-Richard Frost, 15. 20-Alan Westling, 16. 54JR-Larry Barber Jr, 17. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 18. 27M-Rodney Melvin, 19. 94-Austin Rettig, 20. 61-Caleb Ashby, 21. 25L-Steve Lance Jr, 22. 74-John Minon.

Permanent link to this article: https://www.maconracing.com/2014/06/moweaqua-missile-rockets-to-another-win-on-summer-nationals-tour-before-pir-friday/