June 28, 2014 archive

Crawley, Logue race to victories in 95Q Firecracker 40’s at Macon Speedway Saturday


MACON, Ill. – Two weeks ago in the Lite Beer Twin 50s, it wasn’t Dave Crawley, Jr.’s night. Involved in an accident midway through the 50-lapper, the Decatur driver had to wait to get a chance to return to victory lane at Macon Speedway.



Crawley held off Brian Belong of Springfield to win the 95Q Firecracker 40’s for Billingsley Towing Modifieds Saturday. Crawley, who took home the $700 check, was joined as a big winner by Cisco’s Kyle Logue, who took the Firecracker 40’s for late models and a sweep after winning the Lite Beer Twin 50’s feature two weeks ago, and he cashed the $1,500 payday that went to the winner.




Logue fought offer a late charge from Matt Taylor of Springfield. Logue is expected to return for the 34rd Annual Herald & Review 100 on July 10, part of the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals, and he’s apparently working his way out of a short retirement.



Nick Macklin was happy to return to Sportsman racing at Macon Speedway after the division hasn’t had a chance to race in recent weeks and he capture the checkered flag once again. Doug Nevill stayed close but couldn’t come through for the victory.

Bobby Beiler won again in the Street Stock class as he took all 15 laps without  a caution between the green flag and the checkered flag. Garth Luka won in the Stock Hornet division and Thad Gee took hold of the Outlaw Hornet feature.


Macon Speedway results.

Sportsman – 1. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 2. Doug Nevill, 3. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville), 4. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 5. Phil Moreland (Assumption), 6. Scott Landers (Taylorville), 7. Zach Rhodes, 8. Tom Graham (Stonington), 9. Terry Reed (Decatur).

Street Stock – 1. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 2. Terry Reed (Decatur), 3. George Ewing (Warrensburg), 4. Nick Justice (Harristown), 5. Larry Russell Jr. (Harristown), 6. Gene Reed (Blue Mound), 7. James Farley III (Springfield), 8. Roy Magee II (Springfield), 9. Jason Scrimphser, 10. Charles Biesenthal (Athens), 11. Luke Force (Argenta), 12. Dustin Reed (Decatur), 13. Ben Medaris (Decatur), 14. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 15. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 16. Jeffrey Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 17. Brandon Dick (Decatur), 18. Ronnie Burns (Cerro Gordo), 19. Billy Justice, Jr.

Billingsley Towing Modifeds – 1. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 2. Brian Bielong (Summerfield), 3. Jeff Ray (Springfield), 4. Randy Huffman (Maroa), 5. Ethan Schapp (Springfield), 6. Rick Lowe (Springfield), 7. Zack Bunning (Decatur), 8. Dave Eckel (Lovington) 9. Danny Smith (Argenta), 10. Curtis Hartung (Decatur), 11. Eric Hamilton (Macon), 12. Shane Tomlin (Pawnee), 13. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 14. Steve Ewing (Decatur), 15. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 16. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo), 17. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 18. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville)

Late Models –1. Kyle Logue (Cisco), 2. Matt Taylor (Springfield), 3. Ryan Little (Pleasant Plains), 4. Joseph Hughs (Pleasant Plains), 5. John Beck (Springfield), 6. Chuck Mitchell (Jacksonville), 7. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 8. Greg Kimmons (Pleasant Plains), 9. Kevin Crowder (Argenta), 10. Franky Martin (DuQuoin), 11. Ken VanDorn (New Berlin), 12. Jake Little (Pleasant Plains), 13. Dennis Vandermeersch (Springfield), 14. Stefan Bedinger (Taylorville), 15. Mike Hammerlee (St. Charles, MO), 16. Andrew Barnes (Assumption)

Outlaw Hornets – 1. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 2. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 3. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 4. Dillon Justice (Harristown), 5. Garrett Lewis (Decatur), 6. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 7. Steven Stine (Stonington), 8. Vernon Carlow (Springfield), 9. Victor Overlin, 10. Terry Myers (Springfield), 11. Nick Matherly (Decatur), 12. Stephanie Eskew (Springfield), 13. Tharen Reno (Springfield)

Stock Hornets –1. Garth Luka (Blue Mound), 2. Mike McChristy (Mt. Zion), 3. Luke Wright (Lincoln), 4. Kenneth Reed (Decatur), 5. Dean Holt (Mt. Zion), 6. William Deavers (Bloomington), 7. John Lewis, 8. Benjamin McChristy (Mt. Zion), 9. Brian Offer (Springfield), 10. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 11. Alan Salmons, 12. Josh Bright (Decatur, 13. Brady Reed, 14. Tory Lyons (Mt. Pulaski), 15. Damin Jones (Chestnut)


Permanent link to this article: https://www.maconracing.com/2014/06/crawley-logue-race-to-victories-in-95q-firecracker-40s-at-macon-speedway-saturday/

95Q Firecracker 40’s ready to explode on patriotic Saturday at Macon Speedway


MACON, Ill. – There’s no better way to get the Fourth of July celebration started than heading to Macon Speedway Saturday for the 95Q Firecracker 40’s. Not only is there some great racing on the track with two 40-lap features, but there’s plenty of family fun capped by a fireworks extravaganza that’s one of the best in Central Illinois every year.

Track preparations were underway Saturday morning, and the program was moving ahead as planned after some rain Friday.

This is one of the best nights of the year for racing fans. The Firecracker 40’s is a pair of 40-lap features, one for UMP late models and one for Billingsley Towing Modifieds. When these two divisions raced two weeks ago, Kyle Logue took advantage of his experience on the track and found his way into victory lane. During the action packed modified feature, drivers traded paint and the rivalries juiced up the crowd. There are more fireworks expected tonight. Late models pay $1,500 to win, so there’s a crowd of them expected in the Macon Speedway pits. The modifieds pay $700 to win. Let’s get ready to rumble.

OK, so you want some fireworks in the skies, too. Macon Speedway has them, and there’s no better place to watch the red, white and blue tradition than the grandstands, because they explode right overhead. It’s some real Yankee Doodle Dandy fun. Show your colors by wearing your red, white and blue.


Make sure you bring the kids, because Macon Speedway will give the first 200 children 11 and under a free United States of America flag. Uncle Sam would be proud. Let’s wave the stars and stripes during the national anthem. We’ll have an Army veteran taking the flag around the track while we listen to the greatest song on the planet.


Macon Speedway also has buckets of fun. We know you don’t want to leave your seat, so take advantage of the race buckets. That’s five beers, a souvenir bucket and the ice to keep it all cold for just $20. You get to keep the bucket. The refills with five beers and the ice to keep them cold are just $15. Now that’s a party made for the Macon Speedway grandstands.


When you get hungry Sunday morning, Macon Speedway has the answer. As part of a month-long promotion, IHOP will distribute coupons for redemption at 1280 E. Pershing Road in Decatur during each night of racing at Macon Speedway in June. With the purchase of one entrée and two drinks, the second entrée is free.

Grandstands open at 5 p.m. with racing at 7.

For more information, follow Macon Speedway at (www.maconracing.com), Facebook  (www.facebook.com/maconracing) and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers can text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and data rates may apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000. Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles.

Permanent link to this article: https://www.maconracing.com/2014/06/95q-firecracker-40s-ready-to-explode-on-patriotic-saturday-at-macon-speedway/