July 10, 2014 archive

Babb, the Moweaqua Missile, rockets to record 5th Herald&Review 100 win

MACON, Ill. – Perhaps we should just call him Five Time. Shannon Babb made history Thursday in the Herald-Review 100 at Macon Speedway by winning the Herald&Review 100 for a record fifth time.  The driver from nearby Moweaqua took the checkered flag for the second consecutive year earned the $5,000 paycheck. Also known as the Moweaqua Missile, Babb overcame a collision with polesitter Bobby Pierce midway through the race to send the crowd into a frenzy for the local favorite. Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., was second ahead of Brian Shirley of Chatham. Dennis Erb of Carpentersville was fourth with Matt Taylor of Springfield fifth.

“We’ve growed up here and raced here a lot, so it means a lot to win this thing,” said three-time series champion Shannon Babb, who received a loud ovation upon winning in front of his hometown crowd. “You know, it’s tough running 100 laps here and staying out of trouble.”

In another back-and-forth battle, Babb returned his name to atop the series all-time wins list as he tied Billy Moyer at 86 DIRTcar Summer Nationals career victories, just one night after Moyer won at Terre Haute Action Track and took the outright lead.

Brian Shirley, Dennis Erb Jr. and Matt Taylor rounded out the top five.

In the modified feature, Macon Speedway co-owner Ken Schrader of Concord, N.C., rallied for the win ahead of Jeremy Nichols. Jeff Leka was third. MACON  SPEEDWAY RESULTS HERALD & REVIEW 100 – 1. Shannon Babb, 2. Ryan Unzicker, 3. Brian Shirley, 4. Dennis Erb Jr., 5. Matt Taylor, 6. Kevin Weaver, 7. McKay Wenger, 8. Steve Lance, 9. Guy Taylor, 10. Ryan Little, 11. Kyle Logue, 12. Steve Thorsten, 13. Mark Voigt, 14. Greg Kimmons, 15. Jim Moon, 16. John Beck. 17. Brandon Sheppard, 18. Gary Christian, 19. Andrew Barnes, 20. Bobby Pierce, 21. Billy Hough, 22. Rich Bell. Summit Modified Nationals – 1. Ken Schrader,  2. Jeremy Nichols, 3. Jeff Leka, 4. Mike Harrison, 5. Cory Daugherty, 6. Chad Evans, 7. Curt Rhodes, 8. Rodney Bowman, 9. Matt Goulden, 10. Dave Crawley, 11. Ethan Schnapp, 12. Danny Smith, 13. Guy Taylor, 14. Cody Bauman, 15. Ray Bollinger, 16. Mike McKinney, 17. Zach Bunning, 18. Tommy Sheppard Jr., 19. Eric Hamilton. 20. Rick Weitekamp, 21. Jeremy Nichols, 22. Chad Sellers.

Permanent link to this article: https://www.maconracing.com/2014/07/babb-wins-heraldreview-100-for-record-fifth-time/

Summer Nationals points battle heads to tradition rich Herald&Review 100 tonight


Shannon Babb is the defending champion. Photo by Lisa Morrison/Herald&Review

MACON, Ill. – The crown jewel of the Summer National Tour races tonight when history could be made at the 34th running of the Herald&Review 100 at legendary Macon Speedway. Late model aces Shannon Babb and Kevin Weaver both shoot for a record fifth victory in the 100-lap race rich in tradition, pageantry and atmosphere. The race is expected to draw more than 3,000 fans as the Summer Nationals heads toward crowning a champion.

Babb, the Moweaqua Missile, is the defending race champion. He’s battling for the points title with Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., and Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill.. Sheppard won the Summer Nationals title last summer, and Pierce is the 17-year-old phenom who took the checkered flag in the St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100 at Macon Speedway in May.


The action will be furious in the Herald&Review 100 — the only 100-lapper in the Summer Nationals — these dirt trackers know their way around the fifth-mile high banked oval known for two grooves of racing. Local drivers such as Kyle Logue, who recently won two late model features at Macon Speedway, will make the night even more interesting. Dirt track legend Billy Moyer won the Summer National event at Terre Haute, Ind., on Wednesday, holding off Shirley, Babb, Sheppard and Daytona 500 polesitter Austin Dillon. Now the crews much shift from the big half-mile layout at the Action Track to the tight confines of Macon Speedway.

Babb, Weaver and Pierce’s father, Bob, all have won wins in the Herald&Review 100.

The Summit Modified Nationals will also race for $1,000 to win, and Macon Speedway co-owner Ken Schrader is always tough to beat on a track he likes to call a home away from home.

The Herald-Review 100 annually is a circle-the-date race. Fans pack the stands early, and campers began arriving Wednesday. It’s a horsepower carnival with some of the best racing in the Midwest. Tickets are only $25 for adults and $5 for children 11-under. Pit passes are $35.

Parking is free. Camping is available. Gates open at 4 p.m. and racing starts at 7.

For more information, follow Macon Speedway at (www.maconracing.com), Facebook  (www.facebook.com/maconracing) and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers can text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and data rates may apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000. Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles.



Permanent link to this article: https://www.maconracing.com/2014/07/summer-nationals-points-battle-heads-to-tradition-rich-heraldreview-100-tonight/