August 30, 2014 archive

Reed punches ticket to win Big Ten Series Street Stocks race, title at Macon Speedway


Terry Reed is all smiles after winning taking the Big Ten Street Stocks championship.

MACON—Terry Reed should buy a lottery ticket. Everything went perfect for the driver leading the Big Ten Street Stock Series as he would claim the championship to the 10-race series, and the Decatur driver would win the $500 top prize in the Big Ten Street Stock Series race at Macon Speedway on Saturday. Along with that 25-lap victory in which he led every lap, he was the fastest qualifier, won his heat and the 6-lap Dash for Cash which put him on the pole position for the main event.

Trailing him in the Big Ten Street Stock Series is Bobby Beiler, who followed him around for the entire race and lost power on the 24th lap but managed to finish.

Jeremy Nichols overcame traffic and took the lead away from Tim Bedinger en route to the checkered flag in the Sportsman division feature.

Dave Crawley, Jr. had little difficulty getting into the lead in the Billingsley Towing Modifieds feature.  Starting in the front row, he took the lead and dashed away from Guy Taylor and company for his second feature win in a row.

Another driver who had little trouble with the lead was Beach House Mini Sprints feature winner Jeremy Camp. He stuck to the bottom groove and weaved through the lapped traffic and managed to build momentum heading to the POWRi Midgets & Micro Sprints double feature program next Saturday.

Adam Webb won for the second consecutive week in the Outlaw Hornet division. Webb, the defending National Hornet Champion, took away with the lead and went on for victory.

Marty Sullivan had to hold off Jonathan Drake in the fourth turn to get the win in the Stock Hornet class.

Macon Speedway hosted the final event leading to the Bud Light Ladies Night Championship Race on September 13th as five girls from Pop’s Place raced to the checkered flag. Christine Vogel added her name to the list of ladies racing in the championship next month after winning the race while Michelle Perry also advanced by placing second.



Sportsman – 1. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville), 2. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 3. Doug Nevill (Dawson), 4. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 5. Timmy Dick (Monticello), 6. Scott Landers (Taylorville), 7. Tom Graham (Stonington), 8. Stefan Bediner (Taylorville)

Big Ten Street Stocks – 1. Terry Reed (Decatur), 2. Greg Osman (Macon), 3. Jeffrey Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 4. Larry Russell, Jr. (Harristown), 5. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 6. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 7. Kaleb Wood (Sullivan), 8. Bobby Eskew (Lake Fork), 9. Tom Reich (Springfield), 10. Luke Force (Argenta), 11. Roy Magee II (Springfield), 12. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 13. Ronnie Burns (Cerro Gordo), 14. Danny Smith (Argenta), 15. Jeff Reed, Sr. (Blue Mound), 16. Tony Reed (Decatur), 17. Jacob Brigham (Lerna), 18. Gene Reed (Blue Mound), 19. Jason Scrimpsher (Decatur), 20. Jeremiah Hoadley (Forsyth), 21. Dustin Reed (Decatur), 22. Chevy Miller (Clinton), 23. Billy Justice, Jr. (Harristown)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds – 1. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 2. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 3. Zack Bunning (Decatur), 4. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 5. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo), 6. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 7. Jeff Graham (Stonington), 8. Norm Wood (Sullivan), 9. Rick Hamilton (Decatur), 10. John Holzhauer (Greenville), 11. Eric Hamilton (Macon), 12. Dakota Ewing (Decatur), 13. Ethan Schnapp (Springfield), 14. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 15. Jeff Wallace (Decatur), 16. Cory Daugherty (Blue Mound)

Outlaw Hornets – 1. Adam Webb (Decatur), 2. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 3. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 4. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 5. Elden Hemken, 6. Dillon Justice (Harristown), 7. Steven Stine (Blue Mound), 8. Steven Cousins, 9. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 10. Dylen Tucker, 11. Tharen Reno (Springfield), 12. Vernon Carlow (Springfield), 13. Victor Overlin

Beach House Mini-Sprints – 1. Jeremy Camp, 2. Luke Verardi, 3. Garrett Duff, 4. Tyler Duff, 5. Evan Turner, 6. Heath Ross, 7. Austin Stewart, 8.Jeff Beasley, 9. Gabe Verardi, 10. Brian Nance, 11. David Hunt, 12. Michael Bustamante

Stock Hornets – 1. Marty Sullivan (Mt. Zion), 2. Jonathan Drake (Decatur), 3. Luke Wright (Lincoln), 4. Dean Holt (Decatur), 5. Tory Lyons (Mt. Pulaski), 6. Austin Wickline, 7. Mike McChristy (Mt. Zion), 8. Alan Salmons, 9. William Deavers (Bloomington), 10. Benjami McChristy (Mt. Zion)

Bud Light Ladies Night (Pop’s Place) – 1. Christine Vogel, 2. Michelle Perry, 3. Karey Keller, 4. Genny Hinton, 5. Stephanie Keenan.


Permanent link to this article:

Street Stocks fight for titles, cash plus Bud Light Ladies Night at Macon Speedway Saturday

BigTenStreetStocks2014 copy


MACON, Ill. – Griz FM 98.1 Fan Appreciation Night features the State Street Stocks Championship and the Big Ten Series Street Stocks Championship, but the fun doesn’t stop here at legendary Macon Speedway Saturday. With general admission for ladies only $6 on Bud Light Ladies Night and the gals racing from Pop’s Place plus racing in six classes on the fifth-mile high banked oval, it’s a great night to head to the famed speedway on the holiday weekend.

As of 1 p.m. Saturday, preparations were underway for racing at Macon Speedway Saturday night. Check for updates on

The Midwest Big Ten Series Street Stocks will bring some fireworks to an already competitive class. With the $1,000 prize for the season championship up for grabs, the $500 to win feature race, a dash for cash, some trophies on the line and qualifying for the dirt stock cars, it’s the biggest Street stocks event in the state this season. Terry Reed of Decatur and Bobby Beiler of Blue Mound battle for the championship, and the points fund payout extends through the top 10. There’s plenty of places up for grabs with a driver’s top eight finishes counting toward his Big Ten Series points total.

Billingsley Towing Modifieds, Sportsman, Outlaw Hornets, Stock Hornets and Beach House Mini-Sprints will also race. Gates open at 5 p.m. with racing at 7.

Bud Light Ladies Night presented by Y103 features the ladies from Pop’s Place as they hop into 4-cylinder Hornets in an effort to advance to the Bud Light Ladies Night finals in September. Michelle Perry, Karey Keller, Genny Hinton, Christine Vogel and Stephanie Keenan will attempt to join Jenny Cramer and Dana Damery of Rocco’s, Dawn Reynolds and Holly Vinson of Starship Billiards and Laurel Phipps and Brianna Livingston of Woody’s in the Bud Light Ladies Night Championship on Sept. 13. So with that many women heading to Macon Speedway, it’s a great time for the guys to make sure they get here and grab some Buds.

Head to another state fair when USAC-ARCA team up for another doubleheader as the Ted Horn 100 for USAC Silver Crown cars runs Aug. 31 under the lights at the DuQuoin State Fair before the Southern Illinois 100 for ARCA stock cars entertains race fans on Labor Day. The USAC Tony Bettenhausen 100 for Silver Crown cars has been rescheduled for Sept. 7 at the Illinois State Fairgrounds. Tickets for the racing at both state fairgrounds are available by calling Track Enterprises at 217-764-3200.

For more information, follow Macon Speedway at (, Facebook  ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers can text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and data rates may apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000. Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles.


Permanent link to this article: