September 28, 2014 archive

Gee heads to the front, wins Outlaw Hornet World Championship in season finale


MACON, Ill. – Thad Gee of Bloomington powered his way to the title in the World Hornet Championship for Outlaw Hornets Saturday night at Macon Speedway in the season finale. Gee earned $300 for the win and took home the giant trophy.

In Stock Hornets, Jonathan Drake of Decatur won the title after scoring his first victory in four years. He also took home the giant trophy.

Tim Bedinger hadn’t won a Sportsman feature in nine years, but the Taylorville driver took the checkered flag. Dave Crawley Jr., of Decatur, started up front and stayed there all 20 laps to win the Billingsley Towing Modified feature.

Greg Osman, of Macon, took advaetnage of the top side of the track to grab the lead from Bobby Beiler, Terry Reed and Nick Justice to take the victory in Street Stocks. Brett Page won the B-Mods, a growing class that saw several drives from outside the area travel to Macon Speedway for some great racing in a division that’s expected to grow in car count next season.

Austin Archdale won the Illinois Lightning Sprint Series feature, when the car raced with wings this week after running a non-wing feature here two weeks ago.

On the final night of the track’s 69th season of racing, Macon Speedway crowned champions.

Guy Taylor, of Springfield, already wrapped up the Billingsley Towing Modfieds title heading into the night. The veteran needed the cushion after he was unable to finish the feature. Nick Macklin won the Sportsman track championship

Beiler , of Blue Mound, came from the back of the pack to earn a top five and clinch the track championship in Street Stocks.

John Bright Jr., of Decatur, won the Outlaw Hornet championship while Marty Sullivan, of Mount Zion, claimed the title in Stock Hornets.



SPORTSMAN – 1. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 2. Nick Macklin , 3. Phil Moreland, 4. Jeremy Nichols, 5. Tyler Roth, 6. zZach Rhodes, . Doug Nevill, 8. Tom Graham, 9. James Bedinger, 10. Timmy Dick, 11. Stefan Bedinger, 12. Anthony Craven.

STREET STOCKS – 1. Greg Osman (Macon), 2. Terry Reed, 3. Nick Justice, 4. Bobby Eskew, 5. Bobby Beiler, 6. Jeffery Reed Jr., 7. Luke Force, 8. Jeremiah Hoadley, 9. Kyle Waters, 10. Roy Magee, 11. Dustin Reed, 12. Toby Kreher, 13. Thomas Riech, 14. Tharen Reno, 15. Ben Medaris, 16. Jake Weatherford, 17. Brian Dasenbrock, 18. Ronnie Burns.

BILLINGSLEY TOWING MODIFIEDS – 1. David Crawley Jr. (Decatur), 2. Ethan Schnapp, 3. Curt Rhodes, 4. Danny Smith, 5. Zack Bunning, 6. Jeff Graham, 7. Curtis Hartung, 8. Lance Johnson, 9. Dave Eckel, 10. Clint Martin, 11. Randy Spaugh, 12. Guy Taylor, 13. Nick Macklin.

OUTLAW HORNETS – 1. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 2. Mike Eskew, 3. Cook Crawford, 4. Joe McChristy, 5. Steven Stine, 6. Victor Overlin, 7. John Bright Jr., 8. Austin Wickline, 9. Zack Bunning, 10. Gary Tooker, 11. Stephanie Eskew, 12. Vernon Croslow, 13. Dillon Justice, 14. Tom Eskew, 15. Josh Robb, 16. Michael Gossett, 17. Larry Hawk, 18. John Goveia, 19. Jerad Matherly.

B-MODS – 1. Brett Page, 2. Jim Lafferty, 3. Ethan Schnapp, 4. Wade Glover, 5. Scott Kuhn, 6. Terry Reed, 7. Justin Durbin, 8. Eric Brackett, 9. Jeffery Reed Jr., 10. Brad Bedinger, 11. Chris Bolyard, 12. Bruce Boylard, 13. Thomas Riech, 14. Mitch Ringler.

STOCK HORNETS – 1. Jonathan Drake (Decatur), 2. Benjamin McChristy, 3. Luke Wright, 4. Marty Sullivan, 5. Garrett Lewis, 6. Torry Lyons, 7. Brian Offer, 8. William Deavers, 9. Tom Miller, 10. Mike McChristy, 11. Matthew Reed, 12. Dean Holt, 13. Roger Reed, 14. Kenneth Reed, 15. Nick Matherly.

ILLINOIS LIGHTNING SPRINT SERIES – 1. Austin Archdale, 2, Andy Baugh, 3. Brad Funk, 4. Larry Erstin, 5. Beau Bennett.



Permanent link to this article: