August 29, 2015 archive

Fans Enjoy Great Macon Speedway Racing On Appreciation Night

It was a short layoff for fans, officials, and some racers at Macon Speedway on Saturday night, coming off the Herald & Review 100 on Wednesday.  Racing continued to be action packed, as the Midwest Big Ten Street Stocks raced in the 11th Annual Illinois Street Stock Championship.  Also in action were the Billingsley Towing Modifieds, B Mods, Kids Mods, Hornets, and Beach House Micros.

The headline show of the night was the Big Ten Street Stock class.  15 drivers took the green flag with Greg Osman and Brian Dasenbrock leading the way.  Dasenbrock took the lead at the outset and rocketed away from the field.  Well behind him, racing was fast and furious as point leader, Terry Reed, and a host of others tried to run down Dasenbrock.  As the race wore on, Dasenbrock continued to hit his marks to remain out front.  With five to go, Bobby Beiler moved into the second spot and got the caution he needed to close the gap.  Over the final laps, the Decatur, IL driver didn’t falter and went on to claim the impressive victory.  Beiler and Larry Russell, Jr., who ran second for much of the race, finished in the top three.  Greg Osman claimed the Jonathan Drake bonus money of $152, courtesy of AJ Services.  The race was in memory of Drake, a former competitor, who passed away unexpectedly in recent days.

Decatur, IL veteran, David Crawley, Jr. started on the outside of the front row in the Billingsley Towing Modified and shot into the lead at the start.  Zach Rhodes, the pole starter, slipped back into second with Curt Rhodes, his father, in third.  After a lap five restart, Curt was able to pass Zach, giving him a chance at the lead battle. It was all for naught, though, as Crawley rim rode the highside of the track and claimed the Modified victory.  Curt Rhodes finished second with Rodney Standerfer and Jeff Graham third and fourth. Alan Crowder brought home a fifth place run.

Justin Durbin took the lead from the get-go in the UMP B-Mod 15-lap feature event.  Thomas Riech, one of the regulars at the track, moved into second early on with Jerry Thompson also in the mix.  The event saw a caution around the midpoint, where three of the starters were unable to continue.  At the checkered, it was Mulberry Grove, IL’s Justin Durbin taking the victory.

On this night, Macon Speedway hosted yet another Modified class, one called the Kids Mods.  Youngsters, trying to get their feet wet in racing, were behind the wheels of full sized Modifieds with low powered four cylinder engines.  In heat race action, Ryan Hamilton won, despite an early race spin, earning him the pole position for the feature.  In the main event, there were no scares for the driver of car #58, as he went on to take the winner’s trophy.  Following Hamilton were Nash Hilmes and Jordan Clary.

Jeremy Camp was the odds on favorite to win the Beach House Micros, especially with the #1 starting spot.  Camp did not disappoint, either, pulling out to a comfortable lead.  The race, which went flag-to-flag, was fairly uneventful up front with Camp in cruise control.  Following the veteran racer were Kyle Schuett and Nic Harris.

Founding out the program was the UMP Hornet class.  Michael Gossett, of Decatur, IL drove into the lead early in his nicely painted #205 and never looked back, other than to feel comfortable with his huge lead.  Gossett crossed under the checkered with a huge lead, while Thad Gee took second and John Bright, Jr. finished third.

Macon Speedway will be back in action on Saturday, September 5 with Bud Light Ladies night and half price admission for the ladies.  For full information on the event, visit

B-Mods–1. Justin Durbin (Mulberry Grove), 2. Thomas Reich (Springfield), 3. Jerry Thompson (Troy) , 4. Ryan Timmons (Centralia), 5. James Farley III. (Springfield), 6. Steve Phillips (Neoga), 7. Fred Reed Sr (Decatur), 8. Roy MaGee II (Springfield),

Street Stocks–1. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 2. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 3. Larry Russell Jr (Harrisrtown), 4. Terry Reed (Decatur), 5. Greg Osman (Macon), 6. Jason Scrimpsher (Decatur) 7. Jeffery Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 8. Luke Force (Argenta), 9. Jeremiah Hoadley (Decatur), 10. Jamie Suddarth (Decatur)

Modifieds–1. David Crawley Jr (Decatur), 2. Curt Rhodes (Langleyville), 3. Rodney Standerfer (Germantown), 4. Jeff Graham (Stonington), 5. Alan Growder (Elwin), 6. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo), 7. Troy Dodson (Cerro Gordo), 8. Zach Rhodes (Taylorville), 9. Nick Macklin (Argenta)

Hornets–1. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 2. Thad Gee(Bloomington), 3. John Bright Jr. (Decatur), 4.Steven Stine (Stonington), 5. Austin Wickline (Harristown) 6. Marty Sullivan (Mt. Zion), 7. Brian Offer (Springfield), 8. Karlie Sullivan (Mt Zion), 9. Staci Frantz (Lovington), 10. Matthew Reed (Blue Mound)

Micros–1. Jeremy Camp (Blue Mound), 2. Kyle Schuett, 3. Nic Harris (Atlanta), 4. Luke Verardi (Taylorville), 5. Ryan Frantz,  6. Jeff Beasley (Urbana), 7. Brad McDaniel (Carbondale), 8. Josh Ponder, 9. Chad Baldwin (Lincoln), 10. Brian Nance (Mayfield Ky)

Kids Mods—1. Ryan Hamilton 2. Nash Hilmes 3. Jordan Clary 4. Blake Bailey 5. Teagan Evans

Permanent link to this article:

1/2 Price Admission Tonight At Macon Speedway

Macon Speedway officials are slashing general admission prices in half tonight, Saturday, August 29.  Fans will be able to watch six divisions of racing action for just $6 and hotdogs will be on sale for just a buck.

In action will be the UMP Street Stocks in the 11th Annual Illinois Street Stock Championship.  It will also be a Midwest Big Ten Street Stock points paying event, with the winner taking home $500.  Decatur, IL driver Terry Reed currently leads the standings by 38 over Greg Osman, of Macon, IL.  Bobby Beiler, Kyle Waters, and Brian Dasenbrock complete the top five in this 2015 standings.  Reed will be the favorite, claiming the last two Big Ten wins at the Christian County Fair and Jacksonville.

For those who like the open wheel cars, the Billingsley Towing UMP Modifieds will be pacing the Mighty Macon 1/5-mile after having a field of 23 cars on hand Wednesday night.  The B-Mods, Kids Mods,  and Beach House Micros will also be in action.  Rounding out Saturday’s card will be the UMP Hornets.

Pit gates will open Saturday at 4:00, general admission at 5:00, hotlaps begin when the pill draw ends at 6:00, and racing will take the green at 7:00.  Fans will be able to enter the general grandstand seating for just $6, while children 11 and under are free.

For more information, follow Macon Speedway online at, on Facebook ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.

Permanent link to this article: