September 19, 2015 archive

Nichols Goes Topless in Win


(Macon, IL) Jeremy Nichols had a rough start to his night in the North Grand Auto & Ritz Lil Fryer Topless 40 in the Sportsman division, the night where Sportsman race without their roof. He was unable to finish his heat race and was taken off the historic track with a towtruck. Nichols and his crew managed to put the car back together and after a quick test, started the 40-lapper at the end of the field. Within 12 laps, he passed everybody and was the leader. The field consisted of former division track champions and Springfield Mile Nationals winners like Wes Odell, Dennis Vandermeersch and Timmy Dick. Nichols nearly knocked down the wall through the turns but got the top spot. Side-by-side racing with Timmy Dick led to a close battle after a caution but Nichols had too much and won the event.

Matt Taylor took away Tommy Sheppard, Jr.’s quest for the clean sweep in the Pro Late Model class. Sheppard came into the feature race owning the night’s fastest lap in qualifying and winner of his heat race. He drew the pole position in the frisbee formation but just couldn’t keep Matt Taylor away from the lead. Taylor was the leader and kept Sheppard from regaining the top spot.

The World Hornet Championship was won by Adam Webb, coming from 11th position to bypass Jeremy Reed. Reed started sixth and took the lead from Jerad Matherly on lap four and then Webb flew through the field to take the lead from Reed on lap 15 and held on with Reed clinging to his 4-cylinder as best as possible for a chance with five laps left but it would not be able to happen.

Larry Russell, Jr. made his return to the winner’s circle in the Street Stock class. The former multi-time division champion looked like the champion of old as he ran away from the competition. Greg Osman was the closest car behind Russell but still managed to finish seconds behind the leader. Jeffrey Reed, Jr. was the hard charger of the class, starting in the last row and finishing third.

Dave Crawley, Jr. of Decatur got back to victory lane in the Billingsley Towing Modified feature. Starting seventh of 18 cars, Crawley took his time to make the pass for the top spot as Cory Daughtery, who led through the first 16 laps. Crawley’s top side was working and it was enough to grab the lead.

BJ Deal used a slide job to take the lead from Jerry Thompson with five laps left in the B-Modified main event. The former Street Stock driver had just enough to keep in front of Thompson and Jim Farley III in a close battle.

Luke Verardi was just looking to get some laps at Macon Speedway to prepare for the season finale involving the POWRi Midgets & Micro Sprints. The Micro Sprint driver did more than that when he led all 15 laps and won the Beach House Micro Sprint feature race.

Sportsman–1. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville), 2. Timmy Dick (Monticello), 3. Dennis Vandermeersch (Springfield), 4. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 5. Wes Odell (Springfield), 6. Richie Rich (Pontiac), 7. Scott Landers (Taylorville), 8. Danny Smith (Argenta), 9. Tom Graham (Stonington), 10. Tharen Reno (Springfield)

Pro Late Models–1. Matt Taylor (Springfield), 2. Tommy Sheppard, Jr. (New Berlin), 3. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 4. Dakota Ewing (Decatur), 5. Jeffrey Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 6. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 7. Roben Huffman (Midland City), 8. Nick Justice (Harristown), 9. Larry Bunning (Mt. Zion), 10. Cody Maguire (Carlinville)

Street Stocks–1. Larry Russell, Jr. (Harristown), 2. Greg Osman (Macon), 3. Jeffrey Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 4. Terry Reed, Sr. (Decatur), 5. Terry Reed (Decatur), 6. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 7. Dustin Reed (Decatur), 8. Kevin Lewis, 9. Tom Riech (Springfield), 10. Matthew Reed (Blue Mound)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds–1. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 2. Cory Daughtery (Blue Mound), 3. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 4. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 5. Cullen Breeden (Collum), 6. Jeff Graham (Taylorville), 7. David Henderson (Danville), 8. TD Burger (Saunemin), 9. Danny Odell (Springfield), 10. Troy Dodson (Cerro Gordo)

Hornets–1. Adam Webb (Decatur), 2. Jeremy Reed (Decatur), 3. Jared Matherly (Decatur), 4. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 5. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 6. Justin Hall (South Roxanna), 7. William Kidman (Edwardsville), 8. Tim Luttrell (Riverton), 9. Matthew Reed (Blue Mound), 10. Austin Wickline (Harristown)

B-Modifieds–1. BJ Deal (Brownstown), 2. Jerry Thompson (Troy), 3. Jim Farley III (Springfield), 4. Jim Lafferty (Carlinville), 5. Tom Riech (Springfield), 6. Ryan Timmons (Centralia), 7. Cody Stillwell, 8. Roy MaGee II (Springfield), 9. Brad Bedinger (Taylorville), 10. Ronnie Flanigan (South Roxanna)

Beach House Micro Sprints–1. Luke Verardi (Taylorville), 2. Paul Day (Atwood), 3. Michael Bustamante (Blue Mound), 4. Gabe Verardi (Taylorville), 5. Evan Turner (Jacksonville), 6. Tyler Day (Atwood), 7. Brian Nance (Mayfield, KY), 8. Dustin Clary (Belleville), 9. Jeff Matta, 10. Paul Shelton (Decatur)

Permanent link to this article:

It’s RACEDAY In Macon! 7 Divisions & Go-Kart Giveaway

IT IS RACE DAY! The Fireman’s Ball is here. We honor firefighters for their bravery and service by admitting them and their families for $5 each (just show ID).

The Great Go-Kart Giveaway is going on tonight as well. We will give away the two go-karts at Macon Speedway. One kart will be given away to one of the lucky pre-qualifiers, while all other kids 17 and under may sign up tonight to win the second kart!!! All of this is going on in addition to it being a CEFCU Kids Club Night at the races as well!

The DIRTcar UMP Sportsman will race in one of their biggest races of the season as they go TOPLESS for 40 laps and $600 to win.
The UMP Hornets will be racing in their BIGGEST race of the season in the Hornet World Championship. The Hornet World Championship will feature an increased purse as well a large three-tier championship trophy for the prestigious event. $300 is on the line to the one who can out last the rest and the competition is set to be tough.

Classes racing are: UMP Sportsman($600 to win TOPLESS 40), UMP Hornets($300 to win Hornet World Championship), Billingsley BP Service Center & Towing UMP Modifieds, UMP Pro Late Models, UMP B-Mods, UMP Street Stocks, & Beach House 600cc Winged Outlaw Micro Sprints.

Pit gates are set to open at 4pm. General admission gates open at 5pm. Hot Laps scheduled to star at 6pm with racing starting at 7pm.

General Admission $12
Kids 11 & Under FREE

For more information, follow Macon Speedway online at, on Facebook ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.

Permanent link to this article: