POWRi Set To Fly At Macon Speedway

The National Midget Series, A Fan Favorite

POWRi April 23                An outstanding crowd witnessed some great racing action this past Saturday, April 16 at Macon IL Speedway.  Mighty Macon, as many know it, was the home to six divisions which put on a great show.  “Can’t Miss April” continues this Saturday, April 23, as the Lucas Oil POWRi National Midgets, Speedway Motors POWRi Micros, and DII Midgets blaze a trail around the 1/5-mile.  The UMP Street Stocks will also race.

The Lucas Oil POWRi National Midgets kicked off 2016 in Tulsa, Oklahoma with a duel against the Lucas Oil POWRi West Midget Series at Port City Raceway.  Both nights, drivers from the West division cleaned house with Matt Sherrell taking night number one, while Jason McDougal thrilled the crowd with his Saturday night victory.  Look for the National drivers to come back with a renewed head of steam at the next round of co-sanctioned events in May.  Coming out of the Turnpike Challenge, 2013 and 2014 Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget Series champion Zach Daum sits atop the standings with a 20 point lead over Monrovia, Indiana’s Justin Peck.  Spencer Bayston sits in third, trailing Peck by 30 points.  Veteran Keith Kunz Motorsports driver Tanner Thorson holds fourth, while rookie Logan Seavey rides in fifth.

After their season opener at Belle-Clair Speedway, Nathan Benson picked back up right where he left off in 2015, claiming victory after battling with Jeremy Camp and fending off Joe B. Miller.  Joe B. Miller sits in second for the Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series standings, with Jeremy Camp in third.  Matt Howard currently holds fourth, while Slater Helt rounds out the top five.

Heading into this weekend, Patrick Bruns holds the top spot after the Lucas Oil POWRi Division II Illini Midget Series season opener at Lincoln Speedway.  Hunter Lane holds down second in the standings, followed by Jake Neuman, Tyler Vantoll, and Max Pozsgai.

In the UMP Street Stock opener at Macon, a large field of 20 cars were pitside with 16 taking the green flag in the feature.  Nick Justice, of Decatur, IL came out on top of the strong field, while Aaron Cole, Jeff Watts, Terry Reed, and Luke Force finished off the top five.

Pit gates open at 4:00, grandstands at 5:00, pill draw ends when practice begins at 6:00, and racing will take the green at 7:00.  Grandstand admission will be $15 for adults and kids 11 and under are free.

For more information, follow Macon Speedway online at www.maconracing.com, on Facebook (www.facebook.com/maconracing) and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.

Permanent link to this article: https://www.maconracing.com/2016/04/powri-set-to-fly-at-macon-speedway/